The first ten minutes

The alarm jars me awake at 5:00 a.m. It’s dark and I turn the pillow, sinking into the luscious coolness. But if I don’t get moving quickly, I’ll lose the chance to exercise before I have to leave to take the kids to school and continue on to work.

“Just sit up. That’s all you need to do.”

This voice is the opposition to what my good friend calls the I.R.T., or “internal resistance team.” This voice (it’s just one, but I hope others join in soon. Perhaps some of the I.R.T. will defect?) is my motivator.

“Just get your workout clothes on.”

“Just go to the gym. If you get there and don’t feel like exercising you can come home.”

When I start the treadmill, sleep still in my eyes, my muscles feel stiff and unyielding. “Just do 10 minutes. Then you can go home.”

Ten minutes into my run, I decide to do 10 minutes more. Or five minutes at a faster pace. Or 2-minute intervals at a high incline. Have I tricked myself into completing my workout? Maybe. But it gets the job done.

Photo credit: Earls37a via Flickr

2 responses to “The first ten minutes

  1. I love “this voice.” Or “Little Voice,” as I call it. It makes me do the same thing; “just 10 minutes,” “just 10 minutes more,” “you can do it…” And the best part is that once I’ve kicked IRT to the curb in those 20 minutes, I suddenly go, “Oh, I can do this… and more!”

    Way to go, my friend.

  2. So nice to have an internal cheerleader. It took me a long time to hear that voice. I think it likes the attention; it gets louder every day.

    Now, I’m off to add “Little Voice” to my Netflix queue.

Leave a Reply

